Chakras Explained

There are 7 major chakras (ch-ok-ra) in the body. They are situated along the spine and are referred to as wheels or gateways that allow the energy to flow both upward to the crown and downward to the feet.

Each chakra is associated with one of our senses (smell, taste, sight, touch, hearing,), an element (earth, water, fire, air and space) a colour (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet).

Each chakra can also be stimulated by a number of yoga poses (asanas); breathing exercises (pranayama); or sounds (mantras). There are number of other ways to stimulate, balance or calm the chakras such as meditations and the use of flower essenses which I sometimes also use in my sessions.

The 7 Chakras:

  1. Root chakra (Muladhara)
  2. Sacral chakra (Swadhisthana)
  3. Solar Plexus chakra (Manipura)
  4. Heart chakra (Anahata)
  5. Throat chakra (Vishuddha)
  6. Brow or Third Eye chakra (Ajna)
  7. Crown chakra (Sahasrara)

Bringing these 7 seven Chakras into balance can create a sense of clarity and well-being within us. I have seen how my clients have experienced amazing shifts and changes in their lives through using a combination of methods in my Reiki sessions.

Anatomy of the Chakras Course


I have just completed a 5 day intensive course on the Anatomy of the Chakras with Tias Little (

WOW! What a great course! Tias is a mindful and thoughtful teacher who brings about an awareness of how yoga can maintain a balance of  the emotional, subtle and physical bodies.

It really helped me to tie together my love of practicing yoga with the physical benefits of movement and stretching. Not only has this course deepened my own yoga practice but it has also offered me relief from my ongoing and nagging back complaint. Thank you!

Movement and yoga is an important part of healing our energy systems, and during the course we were given an array of tools to ensure that yoga remains a mindful practice that enhances our wellbeing for the good of all things. Tias also emphasisis the importance of meditation, breathing and something that is a challenge to me – chanting!

I will be writing a series of posts on each of the chakras. I will explain them in turn, highlighting common physical and emotional issues associated with each and the yoga poses that can help to breathe the energy back into those areas.

I hope that you find these useful and helpful, but if you have any questions please get in touch via my contact form or email me at


Reiki in North West London

Welcome to Mind Body & Soul Energy.

I’m really excited to be launching my new website. I have been studying and practicing Reiki since early 2010 and am now a Reiki Master practitioner.

From my own experience and from those that I have treated, I know Reiki to be a powerful healing therapy, shifting and balancing our energies and helping to release the things that no longer serves us.

I believe that Reiki can be a wonderful compliment to many other therapies. I see it as a bridge bringing harmony to any areas of our lives that are a little off balance, and finding a way to use other techniques in our daily lifes to keep a longer term sense of well-being. I do this by incorporating my experience of yoga, breathing, meditation and flower essences, and more into my sessions.

If you’re interested in Reiki, would like to book a session or just want more information please email me at or get in touch via my Contact Form